Located in the historic Ballast Quay, where trade in ballasting ships flourished for many centuries and is reflected in the address - are three beautiful 18th Century houses that have been combined to form one large five/six bedroom house. There is over 2,500 sq. ft. of flexible living accommodation. Dating back over 1000 years, the history of Ballast Quay (formerly Union Wharf) starts in 1414 when it was re-possessed by Henry V to form part of the Royal Manor of Greenwich. The house is in the middle of this idyllic cobbled street, which is listed and has been part of London’s history as a working river and trading power across the globe. Ballast Quay was still a fully working dock yard well into the 1980s, when the three houses were combined and converted into the stunning property for sale today.
Today, the house is split over three floors with the main kitchen and reception space on the first floor, with a roof terrace off it. There is also a picturesque balcony, on which two people can sit comfortably and enjoy the spectacular views of the river Thames and beautiful garden created in the 1960s from a derelict industrial wharf. With five double bedrooms, plus a study/bedroom and three bathrooms this substantial house would make a perfect family home or London base. A wonderful and secluded south east facing, mature walled garden is at the back.
The house is less than a minutes walk from the famous Cutty Sark Tavern and 0.8 miles from the Cutty Sark DLR station. Maze Hill station is 0.4 miles away with direct trains to Kings Cross, London Bridge and Cannon Street. In addition an extensive range of river walks, Greenwich Park and the Old Naval College are just moments away with their wide open green spaces. Just beyond is Greenwich Market with a wide array of local shops, restaurants and local pubs to enjoy.